Brand Story

The SPRESS CAFÉ Story

The story began in 1890, when the great-grandmother of “Spress Café’s” owners bought the first coffee near Poços de Caldas. The plantation was made in the valley of São Sebastião da Grama, 1200 meters above sea level with rich volcanic soil and unique climate, both ideal for Specialty Coffees.


The Brazil Specialty Coffee Association places in your cup the finest coffees grown in Brazil. BSCA, as the Association is known, was founded by a group of growers of high quality coffees to bring to the market their finest specialty products, the very best of Cafés do Brazil. BSCA has members in all areas of Brazil where high quality Arabica coffees are grown: Sul de Minas, Matas de Minas, Cerrado, Chapadas de Minas, Mogiana, Bahia and Parana.

In a country the size of Brazil, with a multi-million bag coffee production that provides income for over 10 million people, it is not easy to find the finest coffees. BSCA has hand-picked its members among the most quality conscious coffee growers in Brazil to create a group of superb farms that offer only a selected fraction of their production as top quality specialty coffees.


Tradition coupled with high technology and, most important, personal touch enable this selected group of growers, located in the choicest production areas of Brazil, to bring to the market only the finest coffees produced in the country.

BSCA is in permanent contact with clients abroad and participates actively in the specialty coffee movement at world level, it help its members to bring the best out of their coffees and to offer products that meet the most exacting standards of excellence. BSCA members customize their coffees to the need of the importer, be it a small independent coffee shop or a multi-store chain.
Preparation of a truly special coffee starts with the selection of the area to be planted and the variety to be used. The impact that these choices have on cup quality cannot be changed later by cultivation practices or processing.

The choice of the site affects the cup and relates to sustainability. Strict environmental protection legislation requires a balance between plantation, grazing and forest areas. The preservation of natural forests in cherished by BSCA members who grow coffee adjoining forest areas and retain forest strips along rivers and springs.
As the Brazil Specialty Coffee Association has members located throughout a wide geographical area, covering different latitudes and climates, it offers coffees with a rich variety of profiles.

The dry winters of the Savannah highlands of Bahia and Northern Minas Gerais and their proximity to the Ecuador line yield highly aromatic coffees. The Cerrado highlands of Western Minas Gerais benefit from well defined seasons, uniform maturation and plenty of sunshine in the harvesting season to produce a round cup with perfect balance between body and acidity. The South Minas and Mogiana mountains are well known for coffees with very good body and aroma and a degree of natural sweetness not found elsewhere in the world.

Cultivation practices are environmentally friendly and sustainable in all farm areas where BSCA members grow their specialty coffees. To preserve nature is a key concern in all agricultural activities carried out by BSCA members. Water resources are protected and natural forest are preserved. Solid and liquid wastes are used as organic fertilizers in a manner that avoids contamination and preserves wildlife and bio-diversity in air, land and water.

BSCA carries the concept of sustainability beyond the physical realm to encompass social and economic aspects. BSCA members are proud to pay their workers wages above the average for the sector and to provide social services to workers and families. Quality that started with variety and site selection and continued with cultivation practices is finished at post-harvesting processing. Selective, manual or mechanical harvesting takes place at the peak of maturation to ensure the maximum volume of ripe cherries, the raw material used to produce BSCA’s specialty coffee.

Brazilian specialty coffee growers have a unique advantage in the world. Because of the favorable climate during the harvesting season BSCA members can choose the processing method that best suits the coffee quality required by their clients. The percentages of natural, pulped natural and washed coffees are decided on the basis of market demands but also bearing in mind the option that brings the most quality out of the cherries for each specific lot of coffee.

Careful coffee picking and adequate processing take place during the driest months of the year. Sun drying in thin layers, controlled by expert hands, may be completed in modern coffee driers where slow drying and precise temperature control ensure consistent quality throughout the season. Because of the multitude of coffees produced by its members, BSCA offers not only estate coffees and varietals but also a BSCA espresso blend that is available throughout the year in small but guaranteed volumes. The BSCA espresso blend is made with the finest specialty coffees produced in Bahia, the Cerrado, Mogiana, and South Minas mixed in the correct proportions to enhance body, acidity, aroma and natural sweetness.

The coffees offered by the Brazil Specialty Coffee Association are backed by expert control of quality performed by both BSCA and independent coffee liquorers. The BSCA Specialty Coffees Certificate is only awarded to the finest specialty coffees that conform to exacting quality standards.

品牌故事

SPRESS CAFÉ 的故事

SPRESS CAFÉ 的故事源於 1890 年。當時「Spress Café」擁有人的曾祖母在波蘇斯-迪卡爾達斯附近購下了首間咖啡種植園。咖啡園位於海拔 1200 米高的聖塞巴斯蒂昂-達格拉馬山谷。憑著豐富的火山土壤和得天獨厚的氣候,該種植園成為精品咖啡的理想生產地點。

巴西精品咖啡協會 (BSCA) 為您帶來巴西出產的優質咖啡。正如協會的名字所言,BSCA 是由一班種植高品質咖啡的人士創立,目的是要將他們最優秀的精品咖啡 Cafés do Brazil 引入市場。他們的會員遍佈巴西每一個種植高品質阿拉比卡咖啡的地方,包括南米納斯、米納斯東南山林區、塞拉多、米納斯中北部、莫吉亞納、巴伊亞和巴拉那。

巴西幅員廣大,出產的咖啡產品數以百萬袋,養活了超過 1000 萬人,要從如此大的國家尋覓出最優質的咖啡,的確不是一件輕而易舉的事。BSCA 精心地從巴西最出色的咖啡種植者中挑選會員,打造一個包含了多個優質農場的種植群,並從當中的出產中選取最優質的精品咖啡。

結合傳統與科技,連同最重要的專人培植,令這群經過精挑細選、身在巴西最佳生產區的種植者能夠將最優秀的咖啡產品帶入市場。

BSCA 一直與海外的客戶保持聯繫,並積極地參與世界級的精品咖啡推廣運動。協會亦幫助會員將咖啡精益求精,以及提供能符合最嚴格標準的咖啡產品。而不論進口商是小規模的獨立咖啡店還是大型的連鎖商店,BSCA 會員都會按他們的需要生產咖啡。

周詳地挑選種植地點及採用的品種,才能生產出真正特別的咖啡。這些選擇對咖啡成品在品質上的影響,是不能依靠日後的培植或加工過程來改善的。
種植選址固然會影響咖啡的品質,亦會考慮可持續發展這項原則。嚴格的環境保護法例要求在種植園、放牧區和森林區之間取得平衡。BSCA 會員十分注重自然森林的保育工作,他們會在森林區旁邊種植咖啡,同時亦會保留河流和溪水附近的森林帶。

由於巴西精品咖啡協會的會員遍佈大江南北,當中包括不同的緯度和氣候,因此會員能夠生產出各式各樣的咖啡品種。
巴伊亞大草原高地、北米納斯吉拉斯州和鄰近厄瓜多爾邊境一帶的乾燥冬季,是孕育香濃咖啡的理想天氣。西米納斯吉拉斯州塞拉多高地四季分明,加上一致的咖啡豆成熟期和收成時節的充足陽光,有助生產出香濃和酸味恰到的優質咖啡。至於南米納斯和摩吉安納山則是著名的咖啡出產地,製成的咖啡十分香濃且帶點自然的甜味,是舉世無雙的優質產品。

在所有 BSCA 會員種植精品咖啡的農區,當中的培育過程均符合環保和可持續發展的標準。保育自然是所有 BSCA 會員種植時極為關注的事項。在水源受到保護,森林得到保存的同時,固體和液體垃圾亦會用作有機肥料,從而在空氣、土地和水源方面避免污染、保育野生動物和維持生物的多樣性。

BSCA 將可持續發展的概念由物質範疇推展到社區和經濟領域。而值得表揚的是,他們的會員會向員工發放高於行內平均水平的工資,並向他們和其家人提供社區支援服務。影響咖啡品質的首要因素包括品種和種植地點,其後便是培育過程,而最後把關的則是收成後的處理工序。篩選、人手或機器收割會在咖啡豆成熟的高峰期進行,以確保可以使用最多的成熟咖啡豆來生產 BSCA 的精品咖啡。

巴西精品咖啡種植者擁有世界上獨一無二的種植優勢。由於收割時節適逢怡人氣候,令 BSCA 會員可以採取最佳的處理工序,以配合顧客在咖啡品質上的需求。雖然日曬、半日曬及經水洗處理的咖啡的生產比率是根據市場的需求而定,但各會員更時刻不忘利用每種咖啡豆生產出最優質的咖啡,讓顧客品嚐。

精心的咖啡挑選過程和適當的處理工序都會在每年最乾燥的月份進行。專業的工作人員會親手在陽光下將咖啡豆曬乾,再以先進的咖啡烘乾機以慢速及精準的溫度將咖啡豆烘乾,確保在整個時節中都能生產出品質一致的咖啡。由於會員能夠生產出大量的咖啡,因此令 BSCA 不單可以提供各類品種的莊園咖啡,亦能在一年四季以少量卻穩定的方式生產出 BSCA 混合特濃咖啡。BSCA混合特濃咖啡,是以來自巴伊亞、塞拉多、莫吉亞納和南米納斯最優質的精品咖啡以恰當的比例混合而成,令咖啡的濃度、酸味、香味和自然的甜味都得以提升。

巴西精品咖啡協會所出產的咖啡,均經過 BSCA 和獨立的咖啡烘焙師在專業品質控制之下製作而成。只有最優質並符合嚴重品質標準的精品咖啡才會獲發 BSCA 精品咖啡證書。