Brand History

Since 1890, the Carvalho Dias and Ottoni Families have upheld a tradition of farming coffee in Brazil’s most prestigious coffee-growing areas. Today, this tradition is in its fifth generation. The estates of the families’ descendents, located in regions renowned for the production of fine quality coffee, produce more than 200,000 bags of Arabica coffee, the result of the combination of tradition of careful plant husbandry with advanced technology and respect for the demanding requirements of modern consumers.

In order to achieve this high quality, the plantations use special varietals, such as Yellow Bourbon, and state-of-the-art technology, induding suspended drying tables and pulped natural processing.

The utmost respect for the environment has been handed down from generation to generation. The coffee plantations are situated next to nature reserves set aside for native vegetation, in order to maintain an ecological balance. The use of agrochemicals is subject to strict to preserve all water courses, in order to avoid any risk of contamination.

As part of their concern with social responsibility, the estates take special care of their work force. The employees and their families live in comfortable housing and have access to schooling, churches, medical assistance and recreational facilities.

Since 1992, the two families have exported coffee to the most refined markets in the world. Their coffee can be found in specialty retailers in the United States, Canada, Japan and Europe.

The launch of SPRESS CAFE demonstrates their interest in providing Brazilians with the opportunity to consume coffee of the highest quality, a privilege until recently restricted to foreign consumers.

The Product

The Coffee cherry is a fruit with little pulp and two large seeds.

Contrary to what one might assume, the pulp of the coffee cherry is extremely sweet, in contrast to the taste of the drink. A good comparison is with the grape, which has a sweet pulp but a bitter-tasting seed. A rigorous control of fermentation is important during post-harvest processing of coffee.

The “Natural” process consists of drying the entire cherry and later removing the husk.

The “Pulped Natural” process consists of pressing the recently-harvested cherries against a screen that forces the ripes cherries to release their beans. This process permits the full separation of only the ripe cherries, in order to achieve superior quality. These beans are dried involved by the mucilage so as to preserve their natural advantages, such as sweetness and body (in contrast to the process used in Colombia and Central America, where pulp and mucilage are removed wich results in a consistently mild coffee, with reduced body and high acidity).

The Spress Cafe is composed of a special blend of beans processed by the “Natural” and “pulped Natural” methods.

The Outstanding Characteristics of Spress Café

Flavor: Chocokiy
Acidity: Refined
Body: Velvety
Aroma: Nuly
Sweetness: Marked and Mature

品牌歷史

自 1890 年,Carvalho Dias 和 Ottoni 家族便堅持在巴西最著名的咖啡產區種植咖啡的傳統。到了今天,這個傳統已相傳至第五代。這兩個家族後人所擁有的莊園位於著名的優質咖啡生產區,並出產超過 200,000 袋阿拉比卡咖啡。能得到如此成績,全賴他們將傳統的精巧農業技術和先進的科技結合,以及重視現代客人對咖啡的需求。

種植過程使用了如黃波旁這類特別的咖啡豆品種,並配合先進的科技,包括懸浮的烘乾台和天然果肉處理技術,以達到高品質的生產效果。

悉心愛護環境的理念亦代代相傳至今。咖啡種植園毗鄰讓原生植物生長的自然保護區,以確保生態得以平衡。為保護環境,化學農藥的使用因而受到嚴格監管,從而保護所有水道,以避免出現任何污染風險。

農莊非常重視企業社會責任,因此為員工及咖啡農提供各種福利。僱員和他們的家人均獲安排居住在舒適的房子中,並可享受到教育、宗教、醫療援助和使用娛樂設施的福利。

從 1992 年開始,兩大家族便將咖啡出口至世界上最高端的市場。在美國、加拿大、日本和歐洲的精品咖啡零售商店中都可找到他們的產品。

SPRESS CAFÉ開業的目的,是要令巴西人獨家享受到最優質的咖啡,而外國的咖啡愛好者直至近年才有機會一嚐箇中的滋味。

產品

咖啡豆是一種含有果肉和兩顆大種子的果實。

與一般人的想像不同,真正的咖啡豆果肉味道極甜,與沖調好的咖啡味道大相逕庭。正如葡萄一般,咖啡果實包括了甜的果肉和苦的種子。在收成後的處理工序中,嚴格控制發酵對炮製咖啡來說十分重要。

「日曬處理法」包括將整顆果實烘乾,以及在後期去除果殼的步驟。

「去果肉自然風乾」過程包括在篩子上將最近收割的果實壓平,以把果實分裂從而釋出咖啡豆。過程中只可以將已裂開的果實完全分開,才可以得到優質的咖啡豆。這些咖啡豆會在粘稠的狀態下烘乾,以保存它們的天然品質,包括甜味和濃度(相比起哥倫比亞和中美洲,他們所使用的方法會把果肉和粘稠物清除,以生產出整體溫和、濃度較低的酸味咖啡)

Spress Cafe 的咖啡利用特別的混合咖啡豆,再配以「日曬處理法」和「去果肉自然風乾」的過程製作而成。

Spress Café 的精妙之處

味道:帶有朱古力味
酸度:精巧適中
濃度:溫綿細膩
香味:散發堅果芳香
甜度:突出而恰到好處